Moving States - CCW Question

This is a discussion on Moving States - CCW Question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am moving from WA to KY in 3 months. I have checked on the gun laws in KY and it appears I am not ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Moving States - CCW Question

Moving States - CCW Question

I am moving from WA to KY in 3 months. I have checked on the gun laws in KY and it appears I am not eligible to apply for a CCW permit in KY until I have been a resident in the state for 6 months. My question is, since Kentucky DOES honor Washington's state CCW permit, will it be ok for me to carry concealed during that initial 6 months since my current state has CCW reciprocity with KY? I plan to call to check but I was wondering if anyone might have any insight into this. Thanks guys and gals.
    EDC: FN FNP-9 w/ three 16 rnd magazines. Mini Maglite.

" The unarmed man is not just defenseless, he is also contemptible." ~ Machiavelli.

2. Remove Ads

Only if WA issues a non resident permit and KY honors a non resident permit from WA.

Edited to add, if WA does issue non resident permits you will most likely want to change the address on your permit to your new KY address before you leave WA and change your WA permit to non resident.

VIP Member
    For the most part it will depend on WA state law. Do you lose your residency there when you get a drivers license from KY? If so your WA resident license is void when that happens. Easiest way to handle it would be to get a non-resident license that KY honors, prior to the move.
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

hey thanks guys! I will look into it.

" The unarmed man is not just defenseless, he is also contemptible." ~ Machiavelli.