NY state CWP

NY state CWP

This is a discussion on NY state CWP within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Last year, I went to NY by car to visit my Sister. In viewing the states gun laws, mt Fl permit was good in all ...

Thread: NY state CWP

NY state CWP

Last year, I went to NY by car to visit my Sister. In viewing the states gun laws, mt Fl permit was good in all the states along the way, except NY. And with the crime situation up there, that would be where I would need it the most.
    I wound up leaving the gun at home, and bought a OC sray and had my tactical folding knife in my pocket. And as said above, I was a licensed resident before moving.

Now, heres my question, and I hope someone is an attorney in NY state. As mentioned above, what if: I had bought a 10% intrest in my sisters house, and changed my address there, for the purposes of the permit, before moving to Fl?
    Not that I will do this, but wonder if its legal?

property ownership and address does not equal RESIDENT! Where do you vote? Where do you pay income tax? Where is your residence ( 6 months + 1 day). Check with the old people that live in both FL and NY.
    "Being PARANOID is just plain smart thinking when they are really out to get you!"

Quote Originally Posted by mastercapt View Post
    Last year, I went to NY by car to visit my Sister. In viewing the states gun laws, mt Fl permit was good in all the states along the way, except NY. And with the crime situation up there, that would be where I would need it the most.
    I wound up leaving the gun at home, and bought a OC sray and had my tactical folding knife in my pocket. And as said above, I was a licensed resident before moving.

Now, heres my question, and I hope someone is an attorney in NY state. As mentioned above, what if: I had bought a 10% intrest in my sisters house, and changed my address there, for the purposes of the permit, before moving to Fl?