Accidentally revealing your gun?

This is a discussion on Accidentally revealing your gun? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Just wondering if anyone had any experience with this. One of my fears has always been that my gun would become visible by accident. Or ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Accidentally revealing your gun?

Just wondering if anyone had any experience with this. One of my fears has always been that my gun would become visible by accident. Or worse, fall out of my holster onto the floor of a grocery store or something and scare a bunch of people. Granted, I've been carrying for 10 years and this has never yet happened. But who knows.

Now, last time I took my renewal class I asked the instructor about it. He pointed to the Texas law that says a person commits a crime if he intentionally makes the firearm visible. He said in a case where my shirt rides up over the gun or something of that nature, it would not be intentional, so I should be fine.

But, I have not really heard of any precedent on this issue. And I suppose the laws may vary from state to state. But has anyone on here ever accidentally had their gun shown in public when it was supposed to be concealed?

Distinguished Member Array claude clay's Avatar
    i just put this up elsewhere but it fits your question also:

pay attention when sitting down at restaurants in the booths--avoid the 'clunk' of metal on wood.
    anticipate hugs...women like to come in low around the waist so you have to get your arms at their waist 1st thus they will raise their arms closer to your shoulders.
    at the supermarket--top shelf, reach with the hand opposite your strong side carry so your shirt/jacket will be less able to ride up or flap open.
    also bend at the knees so you wont print at the waist.