Driving Through Maryland

Driving Through Maryland

This is a discussion on Driving Through Maryland within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; In the few weeks leading up to my 21st birthday, I have been studying the various laws regarding concealed carry in states that I frequent. ...

Thread: Driving Through Maryland

Driving Through Maryland

In the few weeks leading up to my 21st birthday, I have been studying the various laws regarding concealed carry in states that I frequent. I am a Pennsylvania resident, but I go to school in West Virginia. The fastest way from one location to the other involves cutting through Maryland, which will not honor my Pennsylvania permit. From what I understand, my handgun will have to be unloaded in a locked container in the cargo area of my vehicle. The problem is that I drive a pickup, specifically a super cab, and I am a little confused on how to go about this.

Any advice for the 60 miserable minutes I have to spend in that state?

FWIW, I am planning on getting one of those COM in car gun lockers.

If it is locked unloaded in a COM safe, and separated from the ammo, you should be good to go.
    Hiram25
    You can educate ignorance, you can't fix stupid
    Retired DE Trooper, SA XD40 SC, S&W 2" Airweight
    dukalmighty & Pure Kustom Black Ops Pro "Trooper" Holsters, DE CCDW and LEOSA Permits, Vietnam Vet 68-69 Pleiku

Hiram is correct. Handgun or ammo in a locked case. FOPA says if no trunk, handgun OR ammo in a locked container.

check out Center of Mass

Lead Moderator
    I'd also make sure the mags are empty.
    Rick

EOD - Initial success or total failure

Loaded mags are fine in MD. The MD AG has issued an opinion that loaded mags are not illegal. in MD. I have attached the ruling and the FOPA ruling as well
    Attached Files
    Last edited by swinokur; May 23rd, 2011 at 02:11 PM.