Cannot carry at work question

Cannot carry at work question

This is a discussion on Cannot carry at work question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello to all. I'm a new member from SC. Still waiting on my CWP (took the class 6 weeks ago). My question is related to ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Cannot carry at work question

Question Cannot carry at work question

Hello to all. I'm a new member from SC. Still waiting on my CWP (took the class 6 weeks ago).

My question is related to carrying at work. I am a Code Enforcement Officer / Building Official in SC. My job often requires me to be probing around abandoned houses. I often piss people off by telling them to do things they don't want to do (comply with city zoning laws and building codes). Many times they are holding a hammer or other tool. I'm usually alone and often in a house with people I don't know. I've had folks get so angry they practically turn blue in the face and tell me to get off their property (even though I have every right to be there). I write tickets for up to $500, and that doesn't get you invited over for supper either.

My employer gave me a document when I hired on that firearms are prohibited while on duty or in city vehicles. It didn't specifically address a CWP, however.

I'm planning on asking formally for permission to carry once the permit arrives. I plan to word the letter so that the city understands they will be sued by me or my relatives if something bad befalls me.

Any suggestions on the wording of such a request to carry letter to an employer? Any similar experiences to share?

Quote Originally Posted by jdf3834 View Post
    Hello to all. I'm a new member from SC. Still waiting on my CWP (took the class 6 weeks ago).