Setting my CHP aside

This is a discussion on Setting my CHP aside within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First a little background: I was attending college during the VN war, my draft status was a 2-A deferment because I was actively enrolled in ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Setting my CHP aside

VIP Member

Setting my CHP aside

First a little background:
    I was attending college during the VN war, my draft status was a 2-A deferment because I was actively enrolled in college. I'm pro-military and would have served though the war ended before I graduated. I've always been thankful because the 2-A allowed me to graduate uninterrupted and go right into the job market. As soon as I got a job and settled down, I applied for the reserves at the local sheriff's office. I served our community here for 25 years, maybe I've returned the favor for my 2-A status. I could have gone full-time with them (or others) several times, but it wouldn't have been a great decision to give up my family business that I built up over the years. I've been out of their reserves for about 10 years now.

During a recent conversation with the sheriff I was offered the opportunity to be re-commissioned. I still don't have much free time for patrol work, but promised to be available for emergencies or events that require additional manpower.

I lost most of my stored leo gear in my fire a couple of years ago, so I'll be needing some new stuff, well let's say "more modern stuff".

I had been CCW with a La permit, and it's okay, but the LEOSA is a lot better, which is a nice plus.

I'm anxious to start and will be getting some refresher and updates on their current protocol's.
    mr.stuart and HotGuns like this.