Indoor Range Defensive Drills

This is a discussion on Indoor Range Defensive Drills within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Times are tough these days and we all have our stories of economic woe. I'm making 1/2 of what I made before my 1 year ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Stubborn
  • 1 Post By MitchellCT

Thread: Indoor Range Defensive Drills

Times are tough these days and we all have our stories of economic woe. I'm making 1/2 of what I made before my 1 year of unemployment (at least I have a job) and just had to trade my Sr9c for a PF9+cash just to survive.

I'm really pretty new to shooting and SD and am trying to make the most of my range trips, as they are getting fewer and farther between. I'm also trying to quantify my shooting ability so I can focus on more rapid improvement. To this end, I'm trying to come up with a 1-2 box scored set of drills. Here's what I have so far:

(This list assumes an indoor range with rules followed. I can't present from holster or do contact-shooting outside of a class-setting.)

Scoring (by ring):
    7=1
    8=2
    9=3
    10=4
    x/head=5 (Head shots, as in real life, will count as 0 for miss)

Drills (by 7rd. Mag):
    1 Box Each at 10 & 20 ft. respectively-
    Normal Stance-CM
    Normal Stance-HS
    Controlled Pair-CM
    1 Hand-R-CM
    1 Hand-L-CM
    Flashlight
    Induced Malf.

Accounting for the 2 rounds lost to using dummies on the "induced malf", total possible score will be 480.

When money allows, I will add a 3rd box and add:
    Extension from position 3
    Extension from "SOOL"
    Kneeling (When my favorite RMs are there)
    Multiple lanes & targets (It can't be said enough-"It ain't what you know, it's WHO you know")
    Mag dumps (just for fun/stress relief)
    Hostage Targets

My dry-fire routine consists of:

Presentation from concealment
    Extension from Pos. 3
    Extension from "SOOL"
    1 Hand Reload/Malf-RH