Interviewed for an RN position today...Nurse threatened by knife last night!

This is a discussion on Interviewed for an RN position today...Nurse threatened by knife last night! within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a new RN graduate, passed boards and am officially a registered nurse. So I have been trying to find a job. Today I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Interviewed for an RN position today...Nurse threatened by knife last night!

I am a new RN graduate, passed boards and am officially a registered nurse. So I have been trying to find a job. Today I interviewed for a great position on an oncology/hematology floor. I really want this position, and if it is offered I am going to take it. An interesting side note is that during the interview, the nurse manager said that just last night a patient's boyfriend was asked to step out of a patient's room during a sterile procedure. He evidently was on something and pulled a knife on the nurse and threatened her with it. They called security and he was arrested. She said, "Thank God for security!"

Well in SC we cannot legally carry a firearm in a hospital. This is something I wrestle with a lot. Job or life? Well, it give me a lot to think about, including researching other non-lethal methods of self defense that I might be able to carry. I don't have the mindset to rely on security to save my life. Granted, this is the only incident they have had like this that they can think of...but as I always say, anytime, anywhere.

So what are your thoughts? Concealed means concealed (granted you will be in legal trouble if you are caught carrying AND fired). Find a different profession? (Not going to happen...too much time and effort for this degree). Look for other methods of self defense? (I have SOME martial arts training)

Please...speak your minds
    Sejune
    Glock 30 .45
    Springfield XD 9