Can I carry too much?

Can I carry too much?

This is a discussion on Can I carry too much? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was having this discussion with a friend of mine at work. I just recently started carrying in CT. As of right now I work ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Can I carry too much?

Can I carry too much?

I was having this discussion with a friend of mine at work. I just recently started carrying in CT. As of right now I work as a bouncer/private security, he says from knowing me that I might be "obsessed" with guns. I told him I am obsessed with "security". Why he says this is because on me at work I now always carry

1)Knife
    2)Knife
    3)OC (2oz?) Mace Brand
    4)Flashlight
    5)Medical Latex gloves
    6)Notepad
    7)Ruger LC9 + Spare

8)Ruger SR1911 + Spare
    9)OC (4oz) Fox Labs

10)Expandable Baton

1-6 is my EDC as soon as I put my pants on. 8+9 usually carried on my body until I park at work then I lock them up and make the decision to
    carry them depending on "how the night is going" (which is included in 1-7 ie i dont get rid of the LC9 to carry the 1911. 10 is almost never carried anymore, illegal in my state since I am not acting as security, the company wont take the risk and has given us another title (floor host)

He says that is too much to be carrying. My question is how would it look to maybe an LEO or DA who is finding out that I carry all of this.

It shouldn't look any way to LE or DA as long as you can legally carry those things. I think it's a bit much, but I understand the thinking. I've been doing some close protection work now and then and even then I don't carry that much. I Cary a handgun with one or two mags no matter what I'm doing, I carry a Benchmade or Strider folder, a Surefire light and a Benchmade pen (mostly for writing).

Not saying you're wrong in any way, but I'd go a bit more "streamline".