Active Duty Mil CCW discount in FL?

This is a discussion on Active Duty Mil CCW discount in FL? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am still a resident of TX and was PCS'd to NAS Pensacola shortly after going active duty so I did not have time to ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By MattInFla

Thread: Active Duty Mil CCW discount in FL?

Active Duty Mil CCW discount in FL?

I am still a resident of TX and was PCS'd to NAS Pensacola shortly after going active duty so I did not have time to take my CHL class in Texas. There all active duty have their paperwork processing fee waived by the state and all you are responsible for are the actual class costs. Here in FL I can't find any info for it but its looking like its $117 + class no matter what. Am I just better off waiting for a time I take leave and get my CHL back in TX?

2. Remove Ads

if you have your dd214 you don't need to take a class, there is no discount from the fees

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    ^^^
    Clarification: If you have a DD214 showing "firearms qualification" (marksmanship ribbons, etc.) it is accepted in lieu of ccw class. Sounds like you are new to the service and may not have a 214. You need something to show you've received firearms training in the service, either pistol or rifle. 16" battleship guns don't count.

The fee remains the same ($117) but part of that is the fingerprinting. If you can get the proper form and have it done at the SPs, you may save yourself some additional $$.
    Retired USAF E-8. Remember: You're being watched!
    Paranoia strikes deep, into your heart it will creep. It starts when you're always afraid... "For What It's Worth" Buffalo Springfield

When I was stationed in FL, I just sent in a copy of the front of my ID card which was accepted as proof of training. However, here's what the actual instructions from the application form say: