Working in the worst spots of CA - no gun allowed

This is a discussion on Working in the worst spots of CA - no gun allowed within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So I work in the worst areas of Southern California. We are talking Compton, Inglewood, Walnut Park, Watts, etc. Basically I am a field engineer ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Working in the worst spots of CA - no gun allowed

Senior Member Array SilenceDoGood's Avatar

So I work in the worst areas of Southern California. We are talking Compton, Inglewood, Walnut Park, Watts, etc. Basically I am a field engineer looking at over head power structures, so I have to get out of my vehicle and my focus has to be taken away from my situational awareness for at least a little bit in order for me to complete my job. To make matters worse my work vehicle is labeled as working for the power company - and sometimes I have to inform people that there houses/businesses will be experiencing a scheduled outage. People, especially in the poorer communities, really don't like the clean cut white guy coming around telling them their power is going to be shut off. More than a few scenes have been made. I can't carry because its California, and I'm not allowed to carry a useful fixed blade because it's against company policy.

My only defense right now is my situational awareness and my posture. I try to communicate with my posture that "I'm not an easy target, but I'm not an aggressor." I also carry a 4" folder knife, but I doubt that would be effective against a group, which is what I am worried about most. So any non conventional or conventional defensive tactics would be much appreciated as well as tools that might aid in my defense if I am attacked by a group.

In advance, please don't say "leave California." I would if I could. Please don't say "quit your job." I'm getting a transfer soon.

Thanks,

SDG