GA GFL to AZ CCW Question

This is a discussion on GA GFL to AZ CCW Question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey guys, I have a quick question about my concealed permit. I'm currently a Georgia resident, and I have a current GFL. I will be ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: GA GFL to AZ CCW Question

Hey guys,

I have a quick question about my concealed permit.

I'm currently a Georgia resident, and I have a current GFL. I will be moving to Arizona soon. Arizona does honor the Georgia permit for non-residents...My question is will I be able to use my Georgia permit until it expires (2 years from now) even after I transfer my drivers license and everything to Arizona? Or will my GA permit automatically become invalid?

I ask because I would rather avoid the expense of obtaining another permit until I absolutely have to.

As well, my GA permit is valid in every state I will be driving though except for NM. What advise can you give to me about when I travel to NM? My understanding is NM is an open carry state. Will I be able to open carry as a non-resident? Or should I unload and lock pistol / ammo seperate?

Thanks for any advise!
    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

Smith & Wesson M&P9c

VIP Member
    Arizona is a constitutional carry state. As long as your in state no permit is required.
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

Quote Originally Posted by archer51 View Post
    Arizona is a constitutional carry state. As long as your in state no permit is required.
    Concealed or open carry doesn't require a permit?

Its been about 10 years since I've been there. Last time I was there it was open carry without CCW and concealed with CCW only.