Learned something interesting yesterday

This is a discussion on Learned something interesting yesterday within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well I had a 45 minute conversation with the guy in charge of all things CC in WI regarding the new law. I am a ...

Thread: Learned something interesting yesterday

Well I had a 45 minute conversation with the guy in charge of all things CC in WI regarding the new law. I am a certified NRA instructor for basic pistol, defense in the home, out of the home, and a couple others. Anyway I called to speak to them about their new "certificate style" and the information that is required to be listed on it. Everything was pretty much good until I said "when I apply for my permit I assume that my NRA instructors certification card or certificates will be sufficient proof of training." His response was "NO, unless you have a certificate with the approved information in the approved format we will reject your request." So let me get this straight, I can teach other people and you will accept me as a certified teacher but I cannot get my permit unless I take a class taught by another instructor. Correct sir. OK so what happens if I write up my own certificate and sign it myself, after all I have listened to myself teach the class about 20 times now and I am sure I paid close attention to what I said and can pass the test that give. He says "well that is an interesting legal argument, can you be both instructor and student...I don't think that will work but I also don't know if we would catch that." The discussion continued on many different levels but in the end I need to submit my paperwork with a copy of my hunters safety certificate from 30+ years ago and that will be acceptable over my trainers certificates.