CC Observations from a Newbie

This is a discussion on CC Observations from a Newbie within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am very new to the CC world. I just purchased a glock 19 at the end of October which I have about 800 rounds ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By WHEC724
  • 1 Post By azchevy
  • 1 Post By rdpG19
  • 1 Post By RugerMike

Thread: CC Observations from a Newbie

CC Observations from a Newbie

I am very new to the CC world. I just purchased a glock 19 at the end of October which I have about 800 rounds through and I am trying to get comfortable carrying around the house, and on my private property until my PA carry permit arrives in the mail. I have been carrying with a loaded magazine, but no round in the chamber since I am trying many different holsters and positions, so I wanted a full mag to give me the weight of a loaded weapon, but for some reason I was uneasy about carrying with one in the chamber.

Here is the observation part of my post. Last week I was taking out the trash night after dinner, and my property is well lit with motion sensitive lights I have installed, but there is a dark spot right next to where I park my car on the side of the house. I realized as I was walking past that spot that if someone got the drop on me there is no way I could rack the slide and defend myself fast enough to be effective. I realized that my gun could have very easily been used against me, and the very thing I bought to protect myself with could become an opportunistic weapon for someone else if I did not carry it +1. Needless to say I racked the slide as soon as I got back inside and have been carrying like that since last Thursday.