Defensive Carry banner

glock 19 not chambered or Ruger SR9C safety on

18K views 99 replies 63 participants last post by  RTTR84 
#1 ·
Hello,
I am new to the site so I apologize if this has already been beat up. I am new to handgun ownership(45 years old and up till a month ago had never fired a handgun). I have applied for my concealed carry and am currently deciding on my carry. I read Somebody who said the only valuable carry gun is the one you are willing to carry. I am not comfortable carrying my Glock 19 chambered and ready to fire. I am also not comfortable carrying my Ruger SR9C without the safety on, so I would love to hear people's opinions or thoughts on which way I would be best off.
Thanks

#31 ·
Training is good. But there is nothing like spending time with your pistol to make friends with it.

My first pistol was a Glock 19. I didn't feel comfortable carrying it. I knew it made no sense to carry it with the chamber empty, and I had two really good holsters, but I just worried about a ND. It's still my biggest worry.

So I bought a Walther PPK/S and carried that. First I carried it with one in the chamber, decocked, decocking lever in the safe position. After 6 to 9 months I started carrying it with one in the chamber decocked with the decocking lever in the fire position. That long pull gave me confidence. The fact that I could load, unload, and clear the pistol with the decocker in the safe position was a huge feature for me in those early days. I found another PPK/S that had been modified to have Novak sights which was a huge improvement, so I bought that and carried it.

I gradually developed the confidence to carry my Glock 19 with one in the chamber. It took about 18 months. during that time I did a lot of practice and shot some action pistol matches with the G19 to gain confidence with it. I have since bought a Glock 26 and an LCP, all of which I carry with one in the chamber.

That said, with one exception, my Glocks are always in a holster.