North Carolina Ar-15......

This is a discussion on North Carolina Ar-15...... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I live and work in North Carolina (swan quarter 27875). I have a question about my ar-15 that my administrators at the prison cannot help ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Landric

Thread: North Carolina Ar-15......

North Carolina Ar-15......

I live and work in North Carolina (swan quarter 27875). I have a question about my ar-15 that my administrators at the prison cannot help me with. I have also contacted my local sheriffs department with no concrete answer as well. Im a corrections officer without a concealed carry permit. I own and carry an ar-15 in my vehicle (a quad cab truck). The weapon is secured in a carry case with 2 padlocks and is kept unloaded (a magazine is at times loaded with a few rounds......but not inserted in the weapon). I do however keep this case inside my vehicle in the back seat (unloaded with padlocks engaged) while on the road and within the parking lot of my facility. This weapon is not in plain sight, it is not loaded, and it has two seperate padlocks with the keys on my person.......the case with padlocks is not in plain sight in my backseat,I have tinted back windows and do not consider this in plain as an officer coming from behind in a traffic stop would not be able to see it from most angles . Again it is unloaded and no round is chambered EVER while driving and/or at the prison.

My question is. Is it legal to carry in NC in this fashion?

I believe that the weapon is reasonably out of reach with the 2 padlocks, loaded magazine unloaded ( I do not have a locking glove compartment) and not inserted in the weapon. I not have a trigger guard as yet............I welcome your input. Im an avid shooter and want to keep myself

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Welcome to the forum.