Defensive Carry banner

Interesting carry question

3K views 28 replies 20 participants last post by  BIGSAM 
#1 ·
Hey all,

I've been lurking the forums for awhile now and get a lot of info just from reading new threads daily. I am of age to carry in a few months at which time I plan to apply for a CWP. For now I am trying to familiarize myself with the law and any situation that could be presented so I can react appropriately.

A little quick background: I'm a college student and own a german shepherd that is almost ready for schutzhund competition (so walking him and needing a weapon was the least of my concerns). I got confronted by 3 black men one day while on a walk with my GSD. My dog bought me enough time to run outta there after one of them assaulted me.

My question is: I cant legally carry a firearm on my person here in FL, but the law (790.25 (5)) says that you can have a firearm if it is securely encased in your private conveyance (Section 790.25, Florida Statutes 2007). Would my dog be considered a "private conveyance"? When on conditioning walks or runs he usually wears a backpack with which I put water in it for him where I could conceal a handgun if needed. There is a definition of "securely encased" but nothing I can find on "private conveyance" with which a car is considered and I figure my dog is considered private property also. Maybe I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance!

See less See more
#4 ·
I dont want any trouble with the law, hence why I posted this. Seemed like an interesting scenario.

That would be the slowest draw in history. LOL
the whole pack is velcro'ed on a harness and can be pulled off and accessed just as fast as if I were in a car. Not super fast but enough to buy time in the event a confrontation like that took place again.

#9 ·
Good luck with your trials. ANY dog/handler team that can get a BH, let alone a full SCH title is an awesome thing. Best wishes!