Interesting carry question

This is a discussion on Interesting carry question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey all, I've been lurking the forums for awhile now and get a lot of info just from reading new threads daily. I am of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Interesting carry question

Hey all,

I've been lurking the forums for awhile now and get a lot of info just from reading new threads daily. I am of age to carry in a few months at which time I plan to apply for a CWP. For now I am trying to familiarize myself with the law and any situation that could be presented so I can react appropriately.

A little quick background: I'm a college student and own a german shepherd that is almost ready for schutzhund competition (so walking him and needing a weapon was the least of my concerns). I got confronted by 3 black men one day while on a walk with my GSD. My dog bought me enough time to run outta there after one of them assaulted me.

My question is: I cant legally carry a firearm on my person here in FL, but the law (790.25 (5)) says that you can have a firearm if it is securely encased in your private conveyance (Section 790.25, Florida Statutes 2007). Would my dog be considered a "private conveyance"? When on conditioning walks or runs he usually wears a backpack with which I put water in it for him where I could conceal a handgun if needed. There is a definition of "securely encased" but nothing I can find on "private conveyance" with which a car is considered and I figure my dog is considered private property also. Maybe I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance!

A_D
    Do yourself a favor. Wait until you're of age.
    Secret Spuk, Hopyard and RichB70 like this.
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time."

-Mark Twain

That would be the slowest draw in history. LOL
    Badey likes this.