Unarmed security guard sees CCW, and it's illegal

This is a discussion on Unarmed security guard sees CCW, and it's illegal within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I work as an unarmed security guard in a museum at a major university. My job is mainly as a "visual deterant". So I do ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Unarmed security guard sees CCW, and it's illegal

Unarmed security guard sees CCW, and it's illegal

I work as an unarmed security guard in a museum at a major university. My job is mainly as a "visual deterant". So I do a lot of people watching on my job.
    It is against the law to carry at the university. I see alot of people wearing hawiian shirts, vests and fanny packs. I always keep an eye on these people but I have not yet spotted a gun.
    I was wondering what I should do when it finally does happen? Should I make a big deal out of it and call the university PD or talk to them and ask them to leave?
    There are always pressures to be political correct since there are a lot of people who visit the museum that are rich contributors to the university. That's why I'm not sure what I would do.

So my question is two sided. What would you do if you were me and you saw someone with a CCW? Also, if you were the one with the CCW how would you want the situation to be handled?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array SubNine's Avatar
    If it's your job, if I were you, I'd notify the campus PD, and give them a description of the person or persons carrying gun(s). If you confront them about it, it's possible they could turn ugly, and pull the gun on you. If I was the person carrying, I would most likely comply, and go put the gun in my car. It's not worth it to escalate the situation.

It is illegal to even have the gun on campus so they can't put it in their car and come back in. They have to leave the campus.

Distinguished Member Array SubNine's Avatar