Ohio CCW needs some Alabama Advice

This is a discussion on Ohio CCW needs some Alabama Advice within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First, Hi all this looks like a great forum! I need some advice from someone who's been through the process or knows how Alabama's CCW ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Ohio CCW needs some Alabama Advice

First, Hi all this looks like a great forum!

I need some advice from someone who's been through the process or knows how Alabama's CCW licensing works. I have my CCW for Ohio (which I'm a resident) and will be moving to Alabama for grad school in the fall. I know OH/AL do not have a reciprocity agreement. Just a few questions:
    1. I've read some articles that Alabama does not offer CCW to non-residents, is this true? (If that's the case couldn't I just get my CCW in a state which AL honors before I move there...)
    2. Does Alabama offer an abbreviated "refresher course" in order to honor my current license?
    3. Any other recommendations? If you can't tell I really don't want to give up my right to carry simply because of a relocation.

Thanks in advance!

Distinguished Member Array ericb327's Avatar
    That sucks, contact your senator to support the National concealed carry reciprocity act of 2012.
    For to win one hundred victories in one hundred battles is not the acme of skill. To subdue the enemy without fighting is the acme of skill. (Sun Tzu) The Art of War

https://www.facebook.com/ninja312

My food and product review blog
    http://trualitybarandgrille.wordpress.com/

Handgunlaw.us

Look into a FL non-res license.

You may get into some issues with your state of residency, I am not sure how that applies to students.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

can't answer your question but welcome to the forum