Muzzle Direction

This is a discussion on Muzzle Direction within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; To set the stage and provide background: I’m new to guns, especially revolvers. I have chosen a J frame as my carry gun, and have ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Muzzle Direction

Pocket carry question

To set the stage and provide background:

I’m new to guns, especially revolvers. I have chosen a J frame as my carry gun, and have decided to use a strong side pocket carry using a DeSanties “Nemesis” holster. I have carried the gun around the house and working in yard loaded with snap caps, just to convince myself that I couldn’t cause an ND by doing everyday activities.

This last weekend my permit came, and I decided to make the obligatory trip to Wal Mart for ammo, but skipped the nachos as my wife want pizza for lunch instead. (She just didn’t get the nacho idea when I tried to explain the tradition to her.)

To make a long story short, we ended up sitting across from each other in a booth at the pizza joint. About halfway through lunch it occurred to me that we were sitting with our legs pointing at each other and my gun in its holster was pointing at her. I repositioned so my leg was directed away from her, but I was (and still am) unnerved by the thought of sitting with a pocket carry gun pointing at someone, or something.

My question is: Am I being paranoid, worrying about an ND from a pocket carry gun in a “good” holster and nothing else in the pocket? Or is this a legitimate issue?

2. Remove Ads

Yes, it is not a legitamate issue, there is no risk.
    People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence in their behalf. - George Orwell