Carry with one in the chamber on Taurus TCP?

This is a discussion on Carry with one in the chamber on Taurus TCP? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been carrying for a couple of months now and usually carry in my back pocket in a felt/neoprene type of pocket holster that ...

View Poll Results: Carry with one in the pipe on pocket .380's?

Voters
17. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

17 100.00%
  • No

0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Carry with one in the chamber on Taurus TCP?

Question Carry with one in the chamber on Taurus TCP?

I have been carrying for a couple of months now and usually carry in my back pocket in a felt/neoprene type of pocket holster that covers the trigger guard. During this time I have mostly carried with nothing in the chamber unless I am leaving at night and going to the ATM or something similar. This is mostly due to the fact that that the Taurus TCP .380 does not have a safety and instead relies on a long DA pull. And to tell you the truth I felt a little paranoid about sitting wrong or bumping it too hard and having it go off. But I have been reading quite a bit, and I think keeping one in the pipe is generally preferred for unexpected situations. I guess my question is whether or not it is a big difference and am I being paranoid? From what I have seen the Ruger LCP and Kel Tec .380's don't have external safeties as well. I will find myself laying on the couch and shifting around and then suddenly stop when I remember I am laying on my gun and take it out of my pocket.
    Ut supra, Sic Infra...

2. Remove Ads

As you researched, keeping a round chambered is best for the unexpected. In a adrenaline induced, unexpected situation you looses dexterity in your hands. Practice pulling it from your holster/pocket to train muscle memory. Feel safe that the TCP and LCP guys designed the long trigger pull for a reason.