I'm now labeled a gun freak

This is a discussion on I'm now labeled a gun freak within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So i got my permit last year in Florida and have been carrying my trusty snub nose revolver (taurus 38spl) it's been great having it ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: I'm now labeled a gun freak

I'm now labeled a gun freak

So i got my permit last year in Florida and have been carrying my trusty snub nose revolver (taurus 38spl) it's been great having it by my side, i'm a college student and the area i live has the highest crime rate in the city, last year was especialy bad for stabbings(i remember 4 people stabbed who lived near campus.)

But recently i was driving around with some friends... i normaly keep my glove compartment locked but it wasn't and when i wasn't looking my friend opened the compartment up and there in plain sight was my 9mm, my revolver, and a heap of ammunition. Unfortunatly all my friends are anti-gun anti-bush pro-clinton pro-abortion liberals which is the exact opposite of me (politics tends to be a no-fly zone haha) Now EVERYONE at my work knows, my entire social network knows.

For florida, what is supposed to be a relaxed state for guns, i'm surprised that i haven't managed to find a single person amongst my peers who likes guns. It's like when i'm carrying i have the plague or something. Everybody seems to think of concealed weapons as something paranoid old men do to compensate for a small part of their male anatomy.

How do you respond to "why do you carry" "you wouldn't really shoot anyone" "you're not gonna have time to shoot someone" without sounding paranoid of everything or being labeled a hyper-aggressive psychotic?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    Just because you're labeled a gun freak, don't start flaunting it!