Carry trigger

Carry trigger

This is a discussion on Carry trigger within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Anyone know if a 3lb trigger pull is too lite for a carry weapon from a liability standpoint?...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Carry trigger

Carry trigger

Anyone know if a 3lb trigger pull is too lite for a carry weapon from a liability standpoint?

I don't think any manufacturer would put a trigger that light on a defensive weapon. Let that be your guide.
    The more good folks carry guns, the fewer shots the crazies can get off.
    www.armedcitizensnetwork.org - member
    Glock 30, 19, 26; Ruger SP101, LCR, Mini 14; Marlin 336 .30-30; Mossberg 500
    CT Lasers

I am NOT a lawyer, nor should you seek out or accept ANY legal advice on an anonymous chat board.

AFAIK, there is no MN law on your trigger pull. I have never even read or heard of ONE anecdote where someone was prosecuted on that metric. That said, all my carry guns are stock. I am a healthy male, and don't need a hair trigger on my ccw.
    10thmtn likes this.

Your trigger weight will only come into play if you ACCIDENTALLY shoot someone.

Self Defense is an intentional act. You can't accidentally defend yourself. "The gun went off" is the argument made by people who shot people who didn't REALLY need to be shot.

If you shoot someone and then say "oops, I didn't mean it, the gun just went off" THEN you are opening yourself up to whether YOU set the stage for the negligent discharge by using a "hair trigger". Real simple.... If they don't need to be shot...don't shoot 'em. If they DO need to be shot....shoot 'em and own it. Don't try to weasel out by saying it was an accident.

If you say "Hell yes I shot them and I am justified in doing so because I was in fear of grave bodily injury and death" then your trigger pull weight is pretty irrelevant.
    Randy Harris