Concealed Carry and Open Carry Opinions

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry and Open Carry Opinions within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I recently started a Thread on the Open Carry Forum. I am suddenly curious about the thoughts of those who Conceal Carry regarding the same ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Crowman

Thread: Concealed Carry and Open Carry Opinions

I recently started a Thread on the Open Carry Forum. I am suddenly curious about the thoughts of those who Conceal Carry regarding the same issue. The original message is as follows:

"First off, I want to say that I do not usually open carry, although I am usually armed. I have absolutely NO problem with Open Carry in general, but I am very curious about this. I am also a Police Officer.

Why are there so many OCers that seem like they are just out to give the Police a hard time? I can tell you that nobody I work with is out there trying to "harass" people legally carrying a firearm. In fact, most are all for it. I can also tell you that we HATE being dispatched to calls regarding things that are not illegal, such as a guy openly carrying a holstered firearm, but we still HAVE to go!

Instead of making YouTube Videos and giving the Police a hard time, why can't we work together? The majority of the time I have positive conversations with people who OC, but there are always some who just want to give you a hard time for no reason. I also try to call the complaintants back and I explain to them that nothing illegal or dangerous is occuring.

Don't you think this hurts the rest of us in the long run, in the public eye? I think this is definatly the case when you have people OCing an AK-47, for no reason, just so they get approached by a Police Officer (Almost ALWAYS resonding to citizen complaints!), just to get a YouTube video up.

It doesn't have to be OC Vs. Police...Why cant we just work together? "