Anyone ever "lost" their CC weapon?

This is a discussion on Anyone ever "lost" their CC weapon? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I will preface this by saying that I am fairly new to carrying concealed. But from day one of receiving my permit, I have carried ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Anyone ever "lost" their CC weapon?

Anyone ever "lost" their CC weapon?

I will preface this by saying that I am fairly new to carrying concealed. But from day one of receiving my permit, I have carried where permissible and without fail excepting one day. I am not allowed to carry in my office, but I will still strap on/in my SuperTuck Deluxe regardless and carry from house to garage, placing my Beretta 92 in the glove box before exiting to walk into the office, then re-holstering it upon leaving company premises.
    Anyway, last Saturday I took my family to a local state park. I got ready as I always do and off we went. After a few hours at the park, we stopped by a butcher shop on the way home. While the wife waited in line, I decided to walk back out to the car and wait. When I grabbed my belt to adjust my pants, my thumb sank into an empty holster! Holy doo doo! I can't even begin to describe the panic that rushed through my entire body. How on earth could a full-size Beretta "fall out" of an IWB holster without me knowing? What if a child found it at the park? I searched through my memory about every step I had taken that morning trying to be positive of what I had done and where I had gone. I could just not conceive that my handgun could fall out of my holster, even if I was running a Spartan. Just no way.
    Well, I went straight home and found my weapon still in my nightstand drawer! ***?!?! How could I leave home with an empty holster? What if something went down and I confidently lifted my shirt and drew down with a handful of air?