Tips for making sure you close and lock your safe?

This is a discussion on Tips for making sure you close and lock your safe? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm relatively new to every day carry, but I'm worried every day that I'm going to accidentally leave my safe unlocked when I put on ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Tips for making sure you close and lock your safe?

Tips for making sure you close and lock your safe?

I'm relatively new to every day carry, but I'm worried every day that I'm going to accidentally leave my safe unlocked when I put on my sidearm. As a result, I tend to check it, and double check it, and triple check it... and frankly, it's annoying. Do any of you have any tips or suggestions to prevent this? Any mantras you have memorized or anything? Mine is a small Gunsafe. So the door doesn't shut automatically.

(My main concern is that I don't want to leave my safe unlocked in case children should find it.)

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    The safe I use most often is in a closet, attached to the wall.

If my safe is open, I leave the closet door open. If the safe is closed, then the closet door is closed.

That way if I'm going out and see the closet door is open..................

Well, you get the picture.
    CCW permit holder for Idaho, Utah, Pennsylvania, Maine and New Hampshire. I can carry in your country but not my own.

Just have to make it part of the routine, like putting on pants.
    NRA Life Member

With great power comes great responsibility.-Stan Lee

I have a complicated procedure I use.

1) Shut the door
    2) Lock the Door
    3) See if the door opens. If it does repeat steps 1-3.
    4) Go about my day
    ArmyMan and Cold Shot like this.

VIP Member
    You might install a small light with a contact switch to turn it on and off. with the door open the light is on, close the door and the light goes off.