Wife wants to pack now, but she is not 21….

This is a discussion on Wife wants to pack now, but she is not 21…. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So yeah we got married a little young, that’s a whole other story there. Anyways I have my CCW and I just turned 22, she ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Wife wants to pack now, but she is not 21….

  1. #1
    Member Array 40S&WMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    208

    Wife wants to pack now, but she is not 21….

    So yeah we got married a little young, that’s a whole other story there.
    Anyways I have my CCW and I just turned 22, she is 18 and since we have been together I have introduced her to firearms, safety and proper handling, and she is becoming a very good shot lately, she put 14 rounds in a 12” group, offhand at 25 yards with my S&W 40V (new series sigma) so she obviously cannot get her CCW yet, I cant find anything in my books or online about carrying under 21, except that someone can legally process a handgun over 18 as long as it was a gift or something. we share a car and I cant carry at work so I would like to leave it with her, loaded and holstered in the glove compartment when she drops me off at work. We are in AZ and I know you can keep a hand gun in plain view or holstered under the seat/glove compartment with out a CCW, its just the under 21 thing I am unsure about.

  2. Remove Ads

  3. #2
    VIP Member Array ron8903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,575
    Check AZ law, In FL you can possess but can't purchase or carry ccw.
    until 21
    Git a holster or rug and put the weapon in the glove box.
    just dont forget to get it out and take it in the house when you get home
    Good luck , sounds like you have a keeper
    "A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
    - Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #3
    Distinguished Member Array LenS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Commiechusetts
    Posts
    1,631
    Check your state's laws online directly. That should give you the info you need. I wouldn't bet her freedom on anything that "someone on the Internet said" unless it was a cited quote from AZ laws.

    Congrats on having a lady who understands and values her life!! Sounds very mature for her age.

  5. #4
    Member Array djturnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    258
    Do you want her to be able to use it while in the car? If so, I don't know. If it's so you'll have it when she picks you up, unload it, and reload when you get in.

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Array QKShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Off Of The X
    Posts
    35,064

    Post

    Yours would be a question best asked by calling your State Police headquarters.
    Call them and ask.
    My best guess would be "NO" you cannot do that in AZ.
    If the state wants fingerprints and a completed safety program for legal citizen carry at 21 years of age then I'm guessing that "anything goes" for an 18 year old alone in a vehicle would not be allowed.
    It's sure not against the law to ask so...make the phone call.


    The Department of Public Safety "shall issue a permit to carry a concealed weapon" to a resident at least 21 years old, who satisfactorily completes an approved firearms safety program, submits fingerprints and a fee determined by the Department of Public Safety, and who does not fall into a class of person prohibited to possess a firearm, such as a convicted felon, adjudicated mental incompetent, or illegal alien. The qualification checks shall be completed within 60 days of receipt of the application, and the permit will be issued within 15 working days after completing the checks. The permit is valid for not more than 4 years and is renewable every 4 years.


    CLICK HERE AZ State Carry Info

  7. #6
    Member Array ceetee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    44
    Dang! I thought that in Arizona, you could carry a gun as soon as you learned to "keep your booger hook off the bang switch"...




    Just kidding. Encourage her to carry a gun in whatever fashion is legal, and still affords her the ability to defend herself with it.

  8. #7
    Member Array madmax2976's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    46

    Vermont....

    Move to Vermont, my old home state. I think you can carry at 16 there, without a permit. <sigh> If I were there I wouldn't be having to wait for this damn permit notice to arrive in the mail

  9. #8
    Distinguished Member Array SixBravo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,692
    The way I have read the law is that you may carry if you are older than 18. It just has to be "open carry."

    BUT!!!!!

    Call the Sheriff's Office or DPS and ask them.
    The Gunsite Blog
    ITFT / Quick Kill Review
    "It is enough to note, as we have observed, that the American people have considered the handgun to be the quintessential self-defense weapon." - Justice Scalia, SCOTUS - DC v Heller - 26 JUN 2008

  10. #9
    Senior Member Array AirForceShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,155
    Can she keep one in the car??

    AFS
    Gun control is hitting what you aim at

  11. #10
    Senior Member Array cagueits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    911
    FYI

    http://www.azleg.state.az.us/Arizona...s.asp?Title=13

    Scroll down to Chapter 31 and start reading each subsection.

    Hope it helps you out.

  12. #11
    Member Array birdman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    45
    Looks like you're SOL until she turns 21...

    Title 13-3112 reads in part:

    "...
    E. The department of public safety shall issue a permit to an applicant who meets all of the following conditions:

    1. Is a resident of this state or a United States citizen.

    2. Is twenty-one years of age or older.
    ..."

    Allan

  13. #12
    Member Array 40S&WMAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    208
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Looks like you're SOL until she turns 21...

    Title 13-3112 reads in part:

    "...
    E. The department of public safety shall issue a permit to an applicant who meets all of the following conditions:

    1. Is a resident of this state or a United States citizen.

    2. Is twenty-one years of age or older.
    ..."

    Allan

    i dont want to get her a CCW, i just want to know if she can open carry or have a gun loaded, holstered in the car without a ccw and being under 21

  14. #13
    Senior Member Array cagueits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    911
    FYI

    Article II, Section 26 of the Constitution of the State of Arizona:

    "The right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself or the state shall not be impaired, but nothing in this section shall be construed as authorizing individuals or corporations to organize, maintain, or employ an armed body of men.

    Look it up on Arizona's Legislature webpage, rights side. Link:

    http://www.azleg.state.az.us/Constitution.asp?Article=2

    Title 13, Sec 3112 talks about concealed handguns - the permit they are talking about is your concealed carry permit. As long as she carries the handgun in a holster, in plain view, on legal places, it should be fine.

    Disclaimer - not giving legal advice, just my 2 cents.
    Last edited by cagueits; September 30th, 2006 at 01:46 AM. Reason: Add phrase "on legal places"

  15. #14
    Member Array IndianaJones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    24
    no way would I leave live shells in a car in a state as HOT as that. Nope. Not gonna happen....

  16. #15
    Member Array MountainPacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    319

    In AZ residents must be 21 to CCW, not visitors

    North Dakota issues out of state permits at age 18. States that don't issue until 21, don't have an age restriction on out of state permits, and recognize ND permits, will let you carry (grudgingly).

    However, AZ requires AZ residents to use an AZ permit.

    No CCW in AZ for residents until you're 21. If you don't live in AZ and have a ND permit, it looks like you can carry at 18.

    If I were you, I'd unload the gun and leave it in the trunk when she drops you off at work for the next three years.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. concealed carry fanny pack for wife
    By robiii65 in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: August 11th, 2013, 10:22 PM
  2. Fanny pack
    By DoctorBob in forum Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 24th, 2010, 08:39 PM
  3. RAT Pack
    By Crockus in forum Defensive Knives & Other Weapons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2010, 11:02 PM
  4. Christmas came early...my wife locked up Wife of the Year honors!
    By MinistrMalic in forum General Firearm Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: December 1st, 2009, 08:03 PM
  5. Pack Gun
    By skunkworks in forum Defensive Carry Guns
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: August 12th, 2006, 06:16 PM

Search tags for this page

jowgafist my wife

Click on a term to search for related topics.