Shooting at Someone Driving At You

This is a discussion on Shooting at Someone Driving At You within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; A recent (as in, 2 minutes ago) news story appeared stating am officer involved shooting of someone because they were backing their car towards the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Shooting at Someone Driving At You

A recent (as in, 2 minutes ago) news story appeared stating am officer involved shooting of someone because they were backing their car towards the officer. As a Paramedic, I've also run on a call where someone rammed the officers car and the officer said if he was able to get the seatbelt off, we'd have been running a GSW instead of minor trauma.

This has me thinking: Has anyone ever seen a news story about a civilian shooting at someone in a car for apparently trying to run at them at a car? Or is it just one of those things where it's ok for the officer, but if a civilian does it, there's some esplainin' to do?

GH
    Oh, I'm sure there'll always be some splainin' to do if you shoot someone regardless of the circumstances.

to tell you the truth I'm not sure of the answer. In my heart & in my intellect he's coming at you with a dangerous weapon trying to harm/kill you. What I know is that if I were in that situation I wouldn't hesitate. If I couldn't get out of the way on time I'd be opening up with everything I had - normally 15 rounds - in the hopes that enough shots would shatter the windshield eventually making an opening for the rounds that would count. Now if I managed to get off to the side I'd have a better chance of a hit through glass through the driver's side window but that would be harder to explain since you got out of the line of danger on your own & the threat is over. Now it becomes revenge, something I'm a strong believer in, lol.
    The Old Anglo likes this.
    Glenn

USN Submarine & UDT/SEAL Veteran