CC'ing when fellow employee is terrified of guns - what to do.

This is a discussion on CC'ing when fellow employee is terrified of guns - what to do. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So how do I best handle this situation. I own a small business and have an employee who is very key to the businesses success. ...

Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree219Likes

Thread: CC'ing when fellow employee is terrified of guns - what to do.

So how do I best handle this situation.

I own a small business and have an employee who is very key to the businesses success. We've been together for years and she's always known of my love of hunting, shooting and guns in general.

I have cc'd a good bit lately and the other day she noticed my belt clip from my holster and asked if I was carrying my gun. I told her yes and I've been carrying for several months. She pretty much freaked out and said she doesn't think she can work for me if I have a gun at work.

On one hand I want to say "bye bye it's my business and if you don't like it tough - leave". But on the other hand she's been with me for over 15 years, knows the business is generally an asset and would be difficult to replace. I also don't want someone being uncomfortable. Her fear is bad - really bad - totally irrational.

I'm stumped on the best way to handle this situation - after all I AM the boss but I also have respect her fears and feel I owe her a certain degree of respect. We deal with the public a lot and have a lot of walk in traffic at my office but we are also in a very low crime area.

Thoughts?

Have you invited her to the range?
    NRA Life Member

With great power comes great responsibility.-Stan Lee

You already know about "Carry Always, Never Tell". You already know that you have violated that rule by first being made and then admitting it. Silly you. (Sorry about that.)