Recent pistol incidents.

Recent pistol incidents.

This is a discussion on Recent pistol incidents. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Greetings! My first post and I am quite new to concealed carry and guns in general. My question is aren't some of these gun incidents ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Recent pistol incidents.

Recent pistol incidents.

Greetings! My first post and I am quite new to concealed carry and guns in general.

My question is aren't some of these gun incidents by the CCW's brandishing or assault in the eyes of the law? For example, the bank executive follow the robber out of the bank and holds him at gunpoint - the banker was not in danger when he followed the robber outside. What about the Autozone guy? He was out of danger then went back into the dangerous situation with is gun.

Don't flame me. I agree that the bad guys need someone to take charge like this. My question is, what does the law think? Wouldn't this be brandishing or assault if you were not in danger and then put yourself in these situations?

With everything I have read, when the threat is over, *legally* you no longer have the green light to pull your weapon.

Opinions please!

JohnAengus

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    Your question is much too broad to answer specifically, but the answer lies in state law, wherever it happened.

My general feeling is, though maybe not the smartest action, both men were stopping a "forcible felony" under state law (in FL) and there would be no "brandishing," which is often misused by definition. Someone robbing a business is not a "victim" but an assailant, and deadly force may or may not be called for--depending on state law and the situation at the time.

Clear enough? I doubt it, as there are so many variances in states' laws.
    hogdaddy, PatAz, msgt/ret and 2 others like this.