another thought on not carrying chambered-young children

This is a discussion on another thought on not carrying chambered-young children within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello everyone, certainly, I am very new to this and am prepared to hear a slew of criticism for being new and for my questioning ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: another thought on not carrying chambered-young children

Hello everyone,
    certainly, I am very new to this and am prepared to hear a slew of criticism for being new and for my questioning of carrying chambered. I have heard and read the advice regarding carrying chambered and agree with the logic of that. Yes, it is a mental barrier for some regarding having confidence in their weapon. However, being a father of 3 young children, I have another reason why I am not ready to carry chambered.

To me, it is one more protection step/factor in the horrible and unlikely event that one of my children handles my gun. They are not old enough or strong enough to rack the slide at this point and I just feel like it's not worth the risk. I understand that drawing the gun and then racking the slide is not ideal, but then again, I can never undo a tragedy of an accidental discharge if my children got a hold of the gun.

In all honesty, I just wanted to suggest this rational to support some who do not carry chambered. There seems to be some occasional negative feedback towards those who do not carry chambered. Perhaps this could offer another reason for those who do not?

2. Remove Ads

Chambered or unchambered is your choice. A more valid concern is why your pistol would be unsecured and available for one of your kids to access it?
    One Riot, One Ranger. Long live the Republic of Texas.

JOIN THE NRA AND DO IT TODAY!!