Defensive Carry banner

Mental Illness & FL Conceal Carry License

8K views 24 replies 14 participants last post by  MemereLisa 
#1 ·
Does anyone know if Florida withholds conceal and carry permits from an individual who has been a voluntary patient in an inpatient mental hospital?

Under CC laws on this website it says this:
Follows federal law regarding gun sales.
Florida will not issue a license to carry a concealed weapon if the applicant:

Has been committed to a mental institution under Chapter 394, or similar laws of any other state, unless the applicant produces a certificate from a licensed psychiatrist stating that he or she has not suffered from disability for at least five years prior to the date of submission of the application.

I am an out of state resident and I voluntarily admitted myself to an inpatient mental hospital. It wasn't for suicide, homicide, or paranoid delusions, I have severe OCD and my own psychiatrist has said he doesn't have any reservations about me being a safety risk with firearms. Which is absurd that I even have to ask, because I have absolutely no history of suicide or homicide nor have I ever been convicted of a felony, but I fear with events in Newtown, CT there may be some broad sweeping sentiment soon to just bar everyone whose ever been in a mental hospital. May sound good to people, but not every person whos ever been a patient there is a harm to themselves or other people or sees/hears voices.