Defensive Carry banner

Do you tell or not tell when entering other peoples home while carrying?

20K views 257 replies 122 participants last post by  Kryptic35 
G
#1 ·
I'm concerned about entering friend's homes and carrying my concealed weapon without their knowledge. I know that a sign must be posted in Texas according to code, to prevent you from entering, but I feel that it's a courtesy to ask and discuss it with the homeowner. My husband and I do not want weapons coming into our home without our knowledge.

Currently, I have a friend that is scared of guns, so I secure it in my vehicle when I am at her home. When I am at a friend's house that does not know I carry, I secure it in my vehicle also.

What do you do?

Thank you for your replies. I am new to carrying.

#208 ·
Nope, unless they know you carry and specifically ask you NOT to bring your weapon into their home or they have signage banning weapons in their home.

Gun carry is about self defense and every time you are without that protection (leaving it in your car) it's just like driving without your seatbelt...IMO

#211 ·
Here there are several ranges that are outdoors were you have to walk down range and hang your target then once you get back online you then after everyone is behind the line identify that you are about to fire so that everyone has there muffs on and is ready to shoot. I guess that i may be old fashioned but, the safety of others is top priority. i dont want to have a unknowing friend or relative move in front of me before i start firing in a defensive situation when i could have prevented it by simply telling them im packing.

#248 ·