Permit coverage issues moving to another state

This is a discussion on Permit coverage issues moving to another state within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a FL resident that's probably moving to Georgia in a few months. I can't tell if I'm missing something or not - after I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Permit coverage issues moving to another state

Permit coverage issues moving to another state

I'm a FL resident that's probably moving to Georgia in a few months. I can't tell if I'm missing something or not - after I move to Georgia and get my Georgia driver's license, I can only then apply for my GWL. At such time, my FL resident permit is not longer (?) valid since I'm not longer a resident, and I then have 30/60/90 days while my old permit doesn't cover my new one, and my new one isn't issued yet.

Other than continuing to use my FL resident permit in Georgia, which I assume is a grey area, or getting a FL non-res permit, will I be without "coverage", or did I miss something?

2. Remove Ads

Once you have changed to a georgia address the FL CC licence becomes junk. Just have to deal with it for a few months.

It all depends on how fast your county processes license requests. I live in Gwinnett County, and it only took two weeks to receive my license.
    "If you make something idiot proof, someone will make a better idiot."

- Anon

Quote Originally Posted by high pockets View Post
    It all depends on how fast your county processes license requests. I live in Gwinnett County, and it only took two weeks to receive my license.
    It'll either be DeKalb or Fulton, so it won't be quick from what I read... And I can't go to another county to apply, right? Maybe it'll be worth applying for a FL non-res since they come pretty fast.

Quote Originally Posted by alyehoud View Post