Obedience to laws/postings or respectful disobedience?

Obedience to laws/postings or respectful disobedience?

This is a discussion on Obedience to laws/postings or respectful disobedience? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a noob to CCW. I work with LEOs, so I'm fairly well protected at work without carrying myself. Therefore, I don't feel put-out by ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Exacto
  • 1 Post By sigs
  • 1 Post By GH

Thread: Obedience to laws/postings or respectful disobedience?

Cool Obedience to laws/postings or respectful disobedience?

I'm a noob to CCW. I work with LEOs, so I'm fairly well protected at work without carrying myself. Therefore, I don't feel put-out by the posted (KRS statue) no-carry policy at work. However, I'm not so sure about other situations where it is posted (whether with force of law or not). So my question is (hopefully this isn't illegal to forum rules or higher laws) whether you carry regardless of postings prohibiting carry? If so, if "caught" what would the penalty be (I know that will vary by state and probably location, but I just want an idea).

Since we are theoretically "concealed carrying" our weapons, wouldn't the chances be greater of not being caught than being caught? Therefore, respectful disobedience would not be noticable to most other patrons or even owners. For instance, if someone in the theater had been "illegally" carrying that fateful night, numerous lives *might* have been saved. Would the law really come down hard on an individual that saved lives through their respectful disobedience? Are there any precedents for instances like this?