Maine Non-Res Question

This is a discussion on Maine Non-Res Question within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; The thread entitled Permit To Carry...Is A Training Requirement Good? brings up a question for me. I am about to apply for Maine and Utah. ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Maine Non-Res Question

  1. #1
    Member Array LTPhoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northeastern U.S.
    Posts
    244

    Maine Non-Res Question

    The thread entitled Permit To Carry...Is A Training Requirement Good? brings up a question for me. I am about to apply for Maine and Utah. I took the Utah instruction last week and was signed off by the Utah-approved instructor. Would a photocopy of the completed Utah permit be sufficient proof of knowledge of handgun safety for the State of Maine? Or maybe a really old hunter-safety card? I hope somebody here knows because I haven't been able to talk to anybody from the issuing agency in Maine yet.

  2. Remove Ads

  3. #2
    VIP Member
    Array Ben Hennessy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    St. James, Missouri
    Posts
    2,406
    I have a Maine non resident permit instead of my own state. My county played games way too long so I decided to go else where. I did take my training here though. I sent them photo copies of my class documents stateing I have finished and passed my class. Unlike Utah it does not have to be from a Utah qualify instuctor for a Maine permit. It was $60 for four years and it took about 90 days to recieve. Does this help?

  4. #3
    Senior Member Array raysheen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    793
    If you have taken the course within the last five years then the state of ME will accept a photocopy of the course that you used for Utah if it is an NRA course.
    Last edited by raysheen; October 25th, 2006 at 03:08 PM. Reason: edit for corrections

  5. #4
    Member Array LTPhoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northeastern U.S.
    Posts
    244
    OK. The lady from the Maine permit folks just called 3 minutes ago. She said that the course, which is not an NRA course, was taken from the Utah instructor within 5 years, it's all good. So I will send it off and see if she is right!

  6. #5
    Member Array realtor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Louis County, MO
    Posts
    60
    Maybe and maybe not. Call or email them. The following is from Maine law.


    (5) Demonstrates to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety. The applicant may fully satisfy this requirement by submitting to the issuing authority, through documentation in accordance with this subparagraph, proof that the applicant has within 5 years prior to the date of application completed a course that included handgun safety offered by or under the supervision of a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of firearms safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken. A course completion certificate or other document, or a photocopy, is sufficient if it recites or otherwise demonstrates that the course meets all of the requirements of this subparagraph.
    As an alternative way of fully satisfying this requirement, an applicant may personally demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety to an issuing authority, if the issuing authority is willing to evaluate an applicant's personal demonstration of such knowledge. The issuing authority is not required to offer this 2nd option.
    The demonstration of knowledge of handgun safety to the issuing authority may not be required of any applicant who holds a valid State permit to carry a concealed firearm as of April 15, 1990 or of any applicant who was or is in any of the Armed Forces of the United States and has received at least basic firearms training.

  7. #6
    Member Array jamz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Southern Maine
    Posts
    289
    Not terribly applicable, but for my ME resident license, the cheif took my MA CCW (LTC) as the proof that I'd completed a safety course, being that MA has the same requirement.

    I think they are pretty reasonable.

  8. #7
    Member Array ptmmatssc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    159
    DD214 is all I needed . Didn't need to have any courses. Of course Maine is where I reside , so not as sure about non resident permits.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Question regarding state of Maine no gun signs
    By Thegear234 in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 18th, 2014, 04:46 PM
  2. Question for Maine CCW holders
    By 1911luver in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 28th, 2011, 07:40 AM
  3. New from Maine
    By MaineRussian in forum New Members Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: May 30th, 2009, 07:02 PM
  4. Hello from Maine
    By jschweick90 in forum New Members Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: March 30th, 2008, 03:55 PM
  5. Legal Question for Maine CFP
    By raysheen in forum Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 25th, 2007, 12:32 PM

Search tags for this page

dd214 instead of conceal carry course in maine

,

maine proof of knowledge of handgun safety

,

maine training

Click on a term to search for related topics.