Concealed Carry and Alcohol (in your vehicle)

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry and Alcohol (in your vehicle) within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been debating getting my concealed carry permit. I don't feel like I live in a bad neighborhood or visit bad places but I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Concealed Carry and Alcohol (in your vehicle)

I have been debating getting my concealed carry permit. I don't feel like I live in a bad neighborhood or visit bad places but I have a wife, 2 year daughter, and 4 month old daughter so I'm no longer protecting only myself.

I understand that with the extra priviledge of concealed carry comes more responsibility and harsher penalties for not abiding. My question is about drinking. Now, I understand that I cannot carry if I consume any amount of alcohol (outside of my property) and I feel the law is just and ok. I can't find any information about having the gun in my car. For example, if we're out and go to a restaraunt, I typically have a few beers. If the wife and kids are with me I ALWAYS let my wife drive home and obviously I wont over consume if I'm alone.

What is the law on having the gun in your vehicle if you've consumed any amount of alcohol (driving or not)? How does the law differ from having your concealed carry or not in the regards of having the gun in your vehicle, not on your person. FYI - I'm in NC.

Also, if I understand correctly, I cannot have the gun in my car on school property (again, not concealed or open carry) if I'm picking up my kids?

Any info will be helpful. Thanks!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by joshw0000 View Post