Defensive Carry banner

Carry empty holster

9K views 13 replies 12 participants last post by  JudgeMan 
#1 ·
Ok. I've Googled and searched, now I'll ask. I'm fairly new to carrying and can't carry at work. I'm wanting to CC my holster just to get accustomed to having it on my side all of the time as opposed to leaving it in the truck with my CCW. Any thoughts on that?

Dono

#2 ·
There are times that I've carried an empty holster. I take my grandson to school every day & it's illegal to have a firearm on school grounds. When I get dressed in the morning I put my holster on my belt & when I get home from taking him I put my gun in it.

#3 ·
I've done that before. Before I got my CCL and after I got a new leather holster, I wanted to break it in so I wore it to work for a few days.

I don't see any problem with that if you want to break it in or just get used to carrying it. Just make sure it remains concealed so you don't get questioned about it.

#4 ·
I'm not able to carry at work so I strap on my empty holster and leave my weapon in my vehicle in the parking lot while I'm at work. When I get off work and get in the truck, my gun goes into my holster and I go about the rest of my day. Nothing wrong with carrying an empty holster when you can't carry your weapon.

Reactions: Dono
#5 ·
Can you clarify the question? Are you asking about opinions regarding wearing a holster at work or about the value of getting used to the holster without the gun actually in it?

As for work, my personal thought is that you need to make a choice regarding how upset your employer would be to find an empty holster. I can't see how they could hold an empty holster against you, but it could cause concerns for the employer that could lead to backlash later on (or not).