Acquiring target with both eyes open

This is a discussion on Acquiring target with both eyes open within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I read this is a skill to have and I'm not very good at it. Other than more practice (duh) are there any particular tricks ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Acquiring target with both eyes open

I read this is a skill to have and I'm not very good at it. Other than more practice (duh) are there any particular tricks that help?

I shoot OK with both eyes open, but I still have to close my left eye at first to aim.

(I know half my questions could be answered in a class but right now I have neither the $$ nor the time as a full time night class student)

Do this test. Dominant eye test - YouTube

After establishing which eye is dominant point the finger on the dominant side at an object. While looking down whichever arm open the other eye. Notice which image is off target. Keep both eyes open while shooting and practice ignoring the "phantom" image. You should have both eyes open for depth perception and more importantly peripheral field of vision. Hope this helps.
    GH likes this.
    “Owning a handgun doesn’t make you armed any more than owning a guitar makes you a musician.” Jeff Cooper

http://carniakcustom.com/

Thanks. Looks like I'm right eye dominant. (probably pretty common as I'm right handed too)

GH
    Quote Originally Posted by Munch View Post
    Do this test. Dominant eye test - YouTube

After establishing which eye is dominant point the finger on the dominant side at an object. While looking down whichever arm open the other eye. Notice which image is off target. Keep both eyes open while shooting and practice ignoring the "phantom" image. You should have both eyes open for depth perception and more importantly peripheral field of vision. Hope this helps.