First step to concealed carry and self defense

This is a discussion on First step to concealed carry and self defense within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Im not a professional instructor nor claim to be the be all end all of anything related to the subject. But I also do not ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: First step to concealed carry and self defense

Im not a professional instructor nor claim to be the be all end all of anything related to the subject.
    But I also do not speak from the what if it happens side of SD but from what has happened in my own life. And Im still here.

But with new members coming on all the time and the preoccupation of all of us to the present assualt on our rights I think maybe this should be posted. Take it for what its worth to you.
    Ok youve decided to get a handgun and ccl or even open carry to have in case you need to defend yourself or your family. Thats good and you should. But you maybe missed a step.

That step is probably the most important. Before you put on a handgun for SD you need to really and I mean really sit down take a little bit and do some soul searching.

Now we fire to stop the threat, not kill, but there is a even chance by that act you will kill your assailant. Shooting a target or human shaped dummy isnt anything like shooting a moving breathing human being. Especially one that intends to do you harm or kill you.

Dont kid yourself that the mere presence of your handgun will send a BG running. It may without your firing a shot at all. If he does thank your lucky stars and go about your life.

But he may as likely not run be armed with something himself and respond a bit like Michael Myers of the Halloween movie only moving faster than a slow amble. Definitely not the time to have a mental moral debate or totally panic into inaction. In that case you will have precious few seconds to act and stop the threat.