First IDPA - A Real Eye Opener!

This is a discussion on First IDPA - A Real Eye Opener! within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a believer! Participated in my first IDPA match last evening. Wow! Not only was it great fun, but if you are going to buy ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: First IDPA - A Real Eye Opener!

First IDPA - A Real Eye Opener!

I'm a believer! Participated in my first IDPA match last evening. Wow! Not only was it great fun, but if you are going to buy a gun, strap it on, and think you're ready to take on the world, THINK AGAIN!! (Disclaimer: I'm a newbie to the gun world, so my experience base started at near zero)

I've always been a strong beleiver in training, but when it comes to carrying a deadly weapon, I can't recommend IDPA enough. Sure the scenarios can be a little quirky, but the bottom line is that you learn how to Handle and how to Manage your weapon.

What were my scores? . . . Oh, I think I here my kids calling me for dinner . . . gotta go!

If you've been considering IDPA, JUST DO IT!
    JD, Aceoky, 40Bob and 5 others like this.
    Always Carry, Never Tell
    S&W Shield 9mm
    Ruger LCP .380
    NRA Member
    Certified NRA Instructor

2. Remove Ads

JD
    Administrator
    Glad you enjoyed it. When's your next match?

IDPA is great fun isn't it? Like you I hadn't done a lot in the handgun world when I went to my first match 4 years ago. Everyone was welcoming and stressed safety and training. Since starting I've made some good friends there and learned good skills that one day could save my life and my family members as well. Nothing is ever going to completely prepare you for a real shooting situation but iDPA builds confidence, situational awareness and gives you a fighting chance.
    Aceoky likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by JD View Post
    Glad you enjoyed it. When's your next match?
    Tomorrow morning!
    JD likes this.