Carry 380 chambered or not while mountain biking

This is a discussion on Carry 380 chambered or not while mountain biking within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a Keltec 380 with a pocket holster that covers most of the weapon. I have sometimes carried it in my front pocket un-chambered ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Carry 380 chambered or not while mountain biking

I have a Keltec 380 with a pocket holster that covers most of the weapon. I have sometimes carried it in my front pocket un-chambered while mountain biking. I am an expert mountain biker and do not fall often at all but it does happen and although the impacts are most often to parts of the body other than that front pocket area it is possible that a hard metal part of the bike could hit the weapon during a crash.

Two questions:

1. How safe is it to carry this in my front pocket un-chambered?

2. How safe would it be to carry it chambered?

Basically, I am wondering how likely it is that this weapon would discharge due to impact. I also wonder the same thing about my Para Ordinance 45 double action 1911. I would never take that one mountain biking but I just wonder about it being dropped or whatever. You hear in the news about these guns "going off" and I just don't buy it. Looking for some confirmation one way or another on this subject.

Thank you

GH