After the Shot

After the Shot

This is a discussion on After the Shot within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been doing a lot of reading about after the shot when you had to use your weapon to protect yourself. Some of the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: After the Shot

After the Shot

I have been doing a lot of reading about after the shot when you had to use your weapon to protect yourself. Some of the info said to talk very little to the Officer on scene. The info said to point out witness, and then shut your mouth and call a lawyer. I was just wondering would it be a good idea to find a lawyer who you could call before any of this could happen. What are your plans after the shot?

Do it exactly as Mas said to...............

I'm not a lawyer not have I stayed in a cheap motel lately, so "grain of salt"!

"Ideally" you'd have your attorney on retainer long before any incident. It's not an ideal world though. So retaining an attorney as soon as possible after something happens should be your number one goal.

A few years ago, the advice (solid then) was to say NOTHING except the word "lawyer". Now CCW is more and more becoming the norm. 49 states have some form or another, and the average patrol officer is more likely to be aware of it ;)

So the advice has "morphed" into that of saying "I was forced to defend myself / fire, I would like to consult my lawyer before making a statement."

There are a couple schools of thought here. Being that CCW is more prevalent, and if that specific situation is very cut and dry, you may not ever wear the silver bracelets. You'll be questioned for sure but I have heard the stories of clear home defense cases where the homeowner never sees the back of a police car.