When entering PFZ do you remove IWB holster and gun or just gun?

This is a discussion on When entering PFZ do you remove IWB holster and gun or just gun? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Im new to cc and find myself in a few PFZ a few days a week One being a school, I will be locking firearm ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: When entering PFZ do you remove IWB holster and gun or just gun?

Im new to cc and find myself in a few PFZ a few days a week One being a school, I will be locking firearm up in vehicle before exiting car, but my question is it preferred to remove entire system (gun + IWB Holster) when exiting car then just replace holster in pants when returning to car or do most just remove the gun lock it up and keep holster in pants then just re holster gun on return? The latter seems more risky for ND but would like others input on this topic.

I just unholster weapon and leave holster on, too much work to remove IWB holster and get it repostitioned, thats just me though, I kinda find it hard to get my IWB holster in the proper place with out dropping my drawers and I don't think anyone wants to see that out in public.

Why is putting your gun in your holster more risky for ND??? Keep your finger off the trigger and the gun won't go off..
    Aquaman likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Ksgunner View Post
    Why is putting your gun in your holster more risky for ND??? Keep your finger off the trigger and the gun won't go off..
    If people were careful the yes, but based on historical evidence we know most NDs where people shoot themselves involve reholstering. On this very site I've read about many things other than fingers getting into the trigger guard. Drawstrings, shirts, flaps of leather, all things that can easily get tangled in the trigger.