Opinions on how to hold a revolver

This is a discussion on Opinions on how to hold a revolver within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm still new to revolvers, and I've not figured out exactly how I feel most comfortable gripping the gun... a 'cowboy style' single action. See ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Opinions on how to hold a revolver

I'm still new to revolvers, and I've not figured out exactly how I feel most comfortable gripping the gun... a 'cowboy style' single action. See picture.

Curious about other experienced shooters thoughts.

uploadfromtaptalk1365738885008.jpg

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
    GGs
    BGs

”Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars.”

Lead Moderator
    Not sure exactly what the issue is? Grab the gun and shoot. Are you asking about a one hand vs.2 hand hold or something else? Perhaps pics of how you are holding it might help.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

uploadfromtaptalk1365739276813.jpg
    This is what I favor now... But I was experimenting, and thought this felt comfortable too...

GGs
    BGs

”Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars.”

Lead Moderator
    First pic looks better . I was taught never to cross your thumbs. If you shoot a semi auto you will learn not to do this quickly. The single action grip seems to roll with the recoil , as opposed to a double action grip which pushes into the web of your hand .
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset