Moving Up to the Next Level

This is a discussion on Moving Up to the Next Level within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've got to admit that I am a pretty novice shooter. I've had my carry permit for a year and carry regularly, have joined a ...

Thread: Moving Up to the Next Level

I've got to admit that I am a pretty novice shooter. I've had my carry permit for a year and carry regularly, have joined a private gun club and go to the range once or twice a month. I typically shoot about 50 rounds with some of those one-handed strong and one-handed weak, but all shots are taken with aligned sights.

I'm concerned that just aiming at paper bullseyes doesn't make me a good self-defense shooter. If I get active in IDPA shooting, or ever find myself in a real-life must-shoot situation, I won't have time to acquire a proper sight picture. How do I advance to the next level of shooting profieciency so that shooting becomes a second nature act?

VIP Member
    Sounds like you've already taken the first step: realizing that there is a difference between target shooting and defensive shooting...

Practice drawing from your concealed holster and dry firing with an unloaded pistol...
    And try to find a good instructor in your area for some hands on training to learn the correct methods...better than learning bad habits right out of the gate.
    "I surrounded 'em"- Alvin York

"They're ain't many troubles that a man can't fix with seven hundred dollars and a thirty ought six"- Jeff Cooper

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar
    IDPA or IPSC are both fairly good training for some aspects of combat shooting, especially if your club throws in blind stages from time to time. Shooting under pressure, aquiring targets quickly, the idea that there will be partially exposed targets under hard cover and bystanders downrange are all useful for real-world engagements.