Florida Non-Resident Rules

This is a discussion on Florida Non-Resident Rules within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a new Fla resident with a reciprocal state's concealed carry permit. The local sheriff's office says I don't need a Fla carry. but I'm ...

Thread: Florida Non-Resident Rules

Question Florida Non-Resident Rules

I'm a new Fla resident with a reciprocal state's concealed carry permit. The local sheriff's office says I don't need a Fla carry. but I'm nervous that they may be wrong.

Any opinions?

2. Remove Ads

Me, I'd hang on to my old permit for now and apply for the resident permit as soon as they allow.

BTW welcome to the forum and the state! One excellent resource we have here in FL is a book written by a lawyer in laymans terms covering firearms law and ccw. "Florida Firearms Law, Use and Ownership" by Jon Gutmacher. Pretty much everyone who has read it said "Wow, I didn't know a lot of that." Almost every gun store has it and he even has a website where you could ask him about it.

http://www.floridafirearmslaw.com/index.shtml

I can't recommend this resource highly enough!
    If you stand up and be counted, from time to time you may get yourself knocked down. But remember this: A man flattened by an opponent can get up again. A man flattened by conformity stays down for good. ~ Thomas J. Watson, Jr.

VIP Member
    Check attorney generals site. The sheriff is the man in your county so do not worry

VIP Member Array paramedic70002's Avatar
    Might want to get that in writing...
    "Each worker carried his sword strapped to his side." Nehemiah 4:18

Guns Save Lives. Paramedics Save Lives. But...
    Paramedics With Guns Scare People!

Lead Moderator
    Welcome to the forum, and I'd check further just to be on the safe side.
    Rick

EOD - Initial success or total failure

Quote Originally Posted by Florida152 View Post