Looking for a little knowledge from the NC members

This is a discussion on Looking for a little knowledge from the NC members within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey All, I'm fairly new to the CCW world. I've taken a handgun safety & CCW class, but still have questions regarding CCW. During my ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By noway2
  • 1 Post By NC Bullseye
  • 1 Post By msgt/ret

Thread: Looking for a little knowledge from the NC members

Hey All,

I'm fairly new to the CCW world. I've taken a handgun safety & CCW class, but still have questions regarding CCW. During my CCW class I was told I could not have a handgun on the property of the hospital where I work, not even in my locked car. This is a huge concern for me, as I narrowly escaped an attack several months ago on my way to work. I work nights and in the highest crime rate area around and would feel a lot more comfortable having a CCW with me on my way to work.

I have read everything on the topic I have been able to find, including my CCW booklet several times. Everything that I've read states that a weapon cannot be on hospital property during a demonstration. My problem is that I want it to be as simple as ABC or 123. IMO, it should be black and white and spelled out clearly for all to understand. Anyone have any insight? It would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much.

Distinguished Member Array noway2's Avatar
    It depends on whether or not the hospital is part of a school. In and of themselves, hospitals are not off limits. However, hospitals like UNC, which are in the middle of a college campus are by virtue of being in a school. A private facility could post against it too.