Duty to render aid?

This is a discussion on Duty to render aid? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; You've just used your firearm in self defense and neutralized the threat. The attacker is incapacitated, obviously injured, but alive nonetheless. The area is secure, ...

Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree156Likes

Thread: Duty to render aid?

Duty to render aid?

You've just used your firearm in self defense and neutralized the threat. The attacker is incapacitated, obviously injured, but alive nonetheless. The area is secure, police and EMS are enroute, but in the mean time, do you render aid?

To preface, I am a paramedic and MD student. On a legal note, there is no duty to act in VA and thus no legal requirement to render aid as far as I can tell. Contrast with MI, where apparently there is a duty to render aid.

On a more practical note, would rendering aid help (or vice versa, not rendering air hurt) in potential court hearings? I can just see a prosecutor explaining how horrible of a person I am for having the knowledge and ability to help, and not doing so.
    goldshellback likes this.

2. Remove Ads

Whoa, tough quiz there Doc. That pulls legal, moral, ethical & religious questions into play. Sitting here on my patio, I'd LIKE to think that I would selflessly & immediately render aid. But in real-world survival mode, something in the blackest part of my pirate heart begs the question - "Was this guy concerned about MY well-being as he planned his felonious assault that got him shot?!?".
    Taurahe, JDE101, Lish and 11 others like this.
    There are only TWO kinds of people in this world; those who describe the world as filled with two kinds of people...and those who don't.

Yes, I would render aid as long as the threat is gone. That is why we say we stop the threat. Once the threat is stopped, I feel it is morally right to administer aid.